About Us


Join The Valley Association of REALTORS® >>


The Valley Association of REALTORS® is a professional organization dedicated to promoting excellence in real estate business practices. Our primary service area consists of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Derby, Oxford, Seymour and Shelton, Connecticut, though our growing member base includes many agents and affiliates from outside this area.

Our mission is to enhance our members' ability to conduct business professionally, ethically and competently and promote the image of REALTORS® as knowledgeable practitioners essential to the real estate transaction. Through our educational and informational endeavors, we foster career advancement, real estate best practices and enforcement of the Code of Ethics distributed by the National Association of REALTORS®.


  • Effective May 1, 2014, all buys of older properties ("pre-FIRM) will see a premium rate reduction under the Homeowner Flood Insurance Affordability Act of 2014. Instead of jumping to "full cost" for flood insurance, buyers will assume the seller's Oct-2013 rate for a pre-FIRM property.

    NAR prevailed upon FEMA to implement this provision seven months early.  FEMA also extended the rate relief so all pre-FIRM properties. (including the second homes and businesses) will begin paying Oct-2013 rates when they purchase or renew their flood insurance after May 1, including:

    • ALL buyers of a pre-FIRM property, not just those whose seller has an existing policy;
    • ALL recent owners who apply for a new flood insurance policy on a pre-FIRM property;
    • ALL recent owners who reinstate an old pre-FIRM policy that previously lapsed for any reason;
    • ALL recent owners who renew a policy on a pre-FIRM property brought or newly insured after the 2012 Biggert-Waters law.



    While expediting the rate relief, FEMA must still issue refunds to all those who paid more than their Oct-2013 rate. NAR will continue working with FEMA and Congress to quickly issue these refunds to anyone overcharged for flood insurance under Biggert-Waters.



    NAR Flood Insurance Resources on the Web:

    NAR Flood Insurance Webpage

    FEMA Bulletin W-14014 (dated April 15th):

    FEMA Bulletin W-14016 (dated April 24th):

    NAR Implementation Survey:

    NAR Frequently Asked Flood Insurance Questions:

    NAR Legal guidance on what to tell clients:


  • You’ll have access to a wide array of services as a REALTOR® member of the Valley Association of REALTOR®.

    STAFF: A well-trained professional staff is here to assist you. VAR is pledged to serve and support its Members by being the primary provider of valuable services in a cost effective and timely manner.

    POSITIVE IMAGE: We distribute news release and get involved with community service programs in order to present a positive image of REALTORS® to the public.

    INFORMATION: We provide our members with a monthly online newsletter publication.  An easy way to stay informed with the latest MLS technology, ethics, market trends, government relations issues, and VAR news and social events.

    EDUCATION: We offer many education opportunities including Continuing Education through our own Real Estate School – Valley Academy of Real Estate (VARE).  Learn new skills and knowledge.

    MEMBER BENEFITS PROGRAM: Take advantage of a variety of discounts on products and services offered thru CAR(insert link) and NAR(insert link) benefit programs.

    WEBSITE: Visit www.varct.com. Information is available for homebuyers and sellers, members-only side provides an easy access to MLS System, forms, association events, links to municipal website, and much more.

    LOCATION: VAR is conveniently located just off Rte. 8 in Derby.  Plenty of parking in the back!

  • Although we are no longer a "Service Center" for SmartMLS, we can provide membership applications for the SmartMLS as well as Electronic Lockboxes and key service.  We run and maintain the Valley Academy of Real Estate for continuing education.

  • 2019 Officers

    President - Nancy Collins

    President Elect - Wayne Chmura

    Secretary - Ellen Zern

    Treasurer - Pat Laskowski

    2021- 3 year Directors

    Aimee Willenbrock

    Theresa Ryan-D'Amaro

    Connie Steeves     

    2020 - 2 Year Directors

    Evelyn Kinney                         

    Kanayo Rupwani

    Cliff Burns   

    2019- 1 Year Directors

    Julie Avellino

    Ed Nieves

    Jeff Gagliardo

    Immediate Past President

    Rosalie Averill


Our Sponsors